Silmarillion Book Club

Is it a nice day out? Do you like baby goats? Are you overdue on thank-you notes for your Christmas presents? Here you go.

Silmarillion Book Club

Postby jalapeno_dude » Thu Jul 21, 2016 12:20 am

Given its recent prevalence in Glowfic recently (Elves (ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧ !!!), I thought it might be fun to do a group read and discussion of the Silmarillion, the original source of most of lintamande's elf-y goodness. I am far from an expert on Tolkien's legendarium (lintamande is much more of one), but I'm rereading the Silmarillion and really want to babble excitedly/talk about it with other people. My intended audience here is at least vaguely familiar with Lord of the Rings (at the level of having read the books or watched the movies) and knows enough about the Silmarillion/is willing enough to read wiki (I recommend Tolkien Gateway) that they'll know who I mean if I talk about, say, Feanor or Galadriel or Earendil. My personal experience: I read the books as a kid, saw the movies, and have played the MMO The Lord of the Rings Online for many years (I highly recommend it even if, like me, you're allergic to interactions with other people--you can play through all of the story content solo without any problems). In the last few months I've reread The Hobbit, LOTR, and the Silmarillion in preparation for Unfinished Tales and ultimately The History of Middle-Earth.

I am aware that canon as presented in the Silmarillion is not always the same as how it ended up in the final version of the legendarium, but I think we can deal with that as it comes up and the Silmarillion is the most accessible place to start (and is what I'm rereading now).

So, my proposal is that we talk this pretty slowly and take our time to digest and discuss things as they come up. I'm imagining something like a chapter/section every few days.