Mornington Crescent

Not the kind with cardstock and pawns. Mostly play by post Mafia so far.

Re: Mornington Crescent

Postby pistachi0n » Wed Jun 17, 2015 11:08 pm

Turn X
Starting position: Bromley-by-bow
Starting objective: Mornington Crescent
Starting possessions: Empty water bottle, coffee table book, wagon, bricks, nontessalating terracotta tiles, Pillar Salat
Combined weight of bricks and nontessalating terracotta tiles: 84.811 kg
Starting time: Early afternoon
Starting status: Rumored to have unpalatable political leanings, confused, and dragging around a wagon full of bricks

Movement:

1. District Line, Westbound: Bromley-by-bow -> Bow Road -> Stepney Green

Purchases and Exchanges

1. I pawn the Pillar Salat and receive 500 dollars of Monopoly money. The man who staffs the pawn shop looks at me oddly.

2. I find a gift shop with a senile-looking shopkeeper. I purchase a Magical Shape-Changing Decal for 374 Monopoly dollars. It is currently shaped like an octagon.

3. The shop has a loose brick. I might as well put it in my wagon.

Ending position: Stepney Green
Ending possessions: Empty water bottle, coffee table book, wagon, bricks, nontessalating terracotta tiles, 126 dollars (Monopoly), Magical Shape-Changing Decal
Ending time: Late afternoon
Ending combined weight of bricks and nontessalating terracotta tiles: 87.374 kg
Ending shape of decal: Octagon
Ending status: Painful
User avatar
pistachi0n
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 6:58 pm
Pronouns: She/her

Re: Mornington Crescent

Postby Lambda » Thu Jun 18, 2015 8:52 am

jalapeno_dude wrote:[And AndaisQ, yes. As we're in a Bonus Turn, either of them may act immediately.]

[However, AndaisQ is missing, presumed dead, so now that everyone else has gone, the Bonus Turn ends and Turn Five resumes. I believe pistachi0n is up again.]
User avatar
Lambda
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 9:39 am
Pronouns: She, her

Re: Mornington Crescent

Postby Nemo » Thu Jun 18, 2015 9:53 am

If everyone else has taken their Bonus Turn then mine slides me up to Euston with no actual action on my part. I have to say, being mostly dead makes things a lot simpler.
Nemo
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 10:04 pm
Pronouns: he/him/his

Re: Mornington Crescent

Postby Alicorn » Thu Jun 18, 2015 11:54 am

Nobody guessed my Secret Decoder Ring Password ("butter cookie") so I think I actually just slide all the way up to Mornington Crescent on turn resolution. In spite of the de-sainting of my cat. (*shakes fist*)
User avatar
Alicorn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4217
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 4:44 pm
Location: The Belltower
Pronouns: She/her/hers

Re: Mornington Crescent

Postby jalapeno_dude » Thu Jun 18, 2015 12:45 pm

[Okay, if Turn X is over I resume play. Will post my actions later tonight.]
User avatar
jalapeno_dude
 
Posts: 1182
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 2:57 pm
Pronouns: He

Re: Mornington Crescent

Postby Lambda » Thu Jun 18, 2015 6:08 pm

[Right, sorry, I missed that jalapeno_dude's turn hadn't resolved yet. So one way or another this is going to be the last turn of the game: either jalapeno_dude gets to MC and wins, or Alicorn wins at end of turn.]
User avatar
Lambda
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 9:39 am
Pronouns: She, her

Re: Mornington Crescent

Postby jalapeno_dude » Thu Jun 18, 2015 7:23 pm

[Turn X resolves before I can act, so if Alicorn has indeed successfully taken the actions she described she wins the game. Drat! I failed to suspect the Decoder Ring even though the Chocolate Duel really should have tipped me off; nice job, Alicorn!

However, there is something I can do:] Alicorn, the Guards at Euston Station are no longer Angered as of the start of Turn Five, but they do control the Pillar Shahadah. As you were traveling on a flying carpet and in possession of two of the Four remaining Pillars [there are now Three Pillars after pistachi0n's actions, but there were Four at the time] despite lacking a Caliphate to justify it [pistachi0n passed through Hornchurch on Turn Four, but did not actually land on it] I therefore find it Debatable whether the Guards would allow you through without hassle.

I will therefore start a Debate on the matter [paying the Karma penalty for late initiation]. As per F.7.2, I must provide an offering; as detailed in the Errata, I Offer a Spirit, namely the Spirit of Ludwig Wittgenstein.

[The full rules for Debates are of course in Appendix F; I note that, should you choose to Forfeit the Debate you are merely Delayed by the guards and therefore you do not reach Mornington Crescent until the next player has acted; if I can then reach Mornington Crescent [which I suspect I can given my trowel and copious amounts of remaining Karma] the two of us fight a Highlander Duel to determine who prevails. If you Contest the Debate, on the other hand, the other players in the game have a say in the outcome; if you lose, I'll insist that you are Detained by the guards instead of merely Delayed. The choice is yours.]
User avatar
jalapeno_dude
 
Posts: 1182
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 2:57 pm
Pronouns: He

Re: Mornington Crescent

Postby Alicorn » Thu Jun 18, 2015 7:48 pm

I have given this considerable thought and I think my only reasonable course of action is to produce a Counterattack. While of course in analog games any inventory quantity may sum to infinity, this is a digital game and therefore subject to digital rules. In the earliest and therefore validly precedent-setting instances of this ruleset on a platform relevantly similar, inventory caps out at 999 nonillion. You have substantially exceeded this, your karma has technically been at that ceiling ever since, and not only did you commit a misdemeanor here (the rest of us are only mildly negligent, and, as the discoverer, I graciously wave the penalty associated with mild negligence), you cannot, actually, afford the karma penalty for late initiation of this Debate. Your debate is invalid!
User avatar
Alicorn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4217
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 4:44 pm
Location: The Belltower
Pronouns: She/her/hers

Re: Mornington Crescent

Postby jalapeno_dude » Thu Jun 18, 2015 8:06 pm

You cannot have it both ways! I believe we are in agreement that the Karma penalty for late Initiation is greater than 999 nonillion but less than the Karma amount listed in my last accounting of my possessions. Either Karma has a cap of 999 nonillion, in which case I can easily afford to pay the 999 nonillion Karma penalty with the 999 nonillion Karma in my inventory [leaving me with either 999 nonillion or 0 Karma, it's Debatable] or, as I could strenuously argue if I needed to, there is in fact no cap in this game [or at least not one smaller than the amount of Karma I currently possess], in which case I can again easily afford the Penalty. I need not choose a position, because in either case your Counterattack is Invalid!
User avatar
jalapeno_dude
 
Posts: 1182
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 2:57 pm
Pronouns: He

Re: Mornington Crescent

Postby Alicorn » Thu Jun 18, 2015 8:11 pm

Nonsense! Inventory is only capped for digital games. How high a karma penalty may be rises infinitely according to the "all not prohibited' clause of the Digital Errata (Jun 1987) without exception for digital games. While in an analog game played on paper you'd be able to afford the penalty, in this one, you cannot.
User avatar
Alicorn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4217
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 4:44 pm
Location: The Belltower
Pronouns: She/her/hers

PreviousNext

Return to Board Games

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest