Mornington Crescent

Not the kind with cardstock and pawns. Mostly play by post Mafia so far.

Re: Mornington Crescent

Postby jalapeno_dude » Sat Jun 13, 2015 12:21 am

[pistachi0n, per the CTO I think I should be Player One of Turn Five. If you've taken some action to change this, please announce it. Otherwise we have a Breach which must be resolved with Appendix F. As per F.3.I, neither I nor pistachi0n are permitted to propose Resolutions, so I'll wait to take my turn until someone else has proposed one.]
User avatar
jalapeno_dude
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 2:57 pm
Pronouns: He

Re: Mornington Crescent

Postby Alicorn » Sat Jun 13, 2015 12:42 am

I propose that pistachi0n take a penalty of an additional 47.811 kilograms of nontessellating terracotta tiles to add to the brick collection and that her turn should be otherwise intact, followed by jalapeno's.
User avatar
Alicorn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4225
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 4:44 pm
Location: The Belltower
Pronouns: She/her/hers

Re: Mornington Crescent

Postby pistachi0n » Sat Jun 13, 2015 8:08 am

That is embarrassing, I keep thinking I'm after Alicorn. The nontessalating terra cotta tiles have been added.
User avatar
pistachi0n
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 6:58 pm
Pronouns: She/her

Re: Mornington Crescent

Postby jalapeno_dude » Sun Jun 14, 2015 1:06 am

[I had not planned on doing this for a couple of turns, but AndaisQ gave me the opportunity and I feel compelled to take it.]

Player One, Turn Five
Starting Position: Plaistow
Current Objective: Mornington Crescent
Current Possessions: no towel, trowel, cowl (worn), Caliph Archimedes the horned owl (species unspecified), 37975227936943673922808872755445627854565420638199 Karma, the Pillars Shahadah, Salat, and Hajj, £10,483, small wheeled cart, The Last Mitre, Boar's head caboshed, Landgraviate-Archbishopric of Zutphen, Imperial Immediacy, Permanent and Retroactive Tax Exemption
Current Status: Possessed by the Spirit of Ludwig Wittgenstein, Walking on Air, Disguised

Resolution

A) This is the second Turn I have started Disguised, so I am required to pay the Fool Me Twice Penalty (Aminev 5.3C) by choosing one of the options on the Shame Table (Appendix D).

[This was a tricky choice. One possibility would be to gain the Disgraced Condition, which I could immediately remove by resigning as Archbishop--but then I'd need to forfeit my Walking on Air status and my Mitre, both of which have become Bound to the Position (see e.g. Aminev 6.3). Another would be simply be to Forfeit my Karma, but then the next Resolution step would give me a nasty Karma Deficit. Instead...]

A (continued)) I choose the Penance option. As a Dynastic Noble I am allowed to Forfeit Responsibility to those whom I've wronged while Disguised as Penance. I therefore choose to give up the Pillar Shahadah to the Guards at Euston Station, and the Pillar Salat to pistachi0n. [Because the S'chism Tango has been successfully completed, Dispersal of the Pillars does not cause a Holy War.]

[I also remove and destroy my cowl.]

B) I also lose 6.02 x 10^23 Karma for my inexcusable actions while Disguised.

[On Turn Two, I sacrificed the species of Caliph Archimedes. I am required to provide him with a new species in Genus Bubo this turn. I am rather pleased with this method of doing so:]

Purchases and Exchanges

I) Purchase: Linguistics (Aminev 9.19): Destroy the Pillar Haaj for the string 'Mecca Kinda Inspires'. [This exchange of signified for signifier is affectionately known as the "reverse Saussure".] [As I no longer control any of the Pillars, Archimedes loses his Caliph status.]

II) Exchange: Anagram (9.3): Convert 'Mecca Kinda Inspires' to 'capensis mackinderi'.

Actions

I) "Specify" Archimedes by concatenating 'capensis mackinderi' to his genus. Archimedes is now Archimedes the Mackinder's eagle-owl.

II) Because I have not Moved this turn, I may exercise my Imperial Immediacy to attempt to move past AndaisQ in the Turn Order. Because he is missing, presumed dead, the attempt automatically succeeds.

[The turn order is now:
1. pistachi0n
2. Nemo Consequentiæ
3. Lambda
4. Alicorn
5. jalapeno_dude
6. AndaisQ

I have returned to my initial location in the turn order by moving ahead of each other player in the game. That means...]

III) I am now eligible to submit a Declaration of Intent to Return to Mornington Crescent (Aminev 3.4), having fulfilled Condition Teal (Lapping the Field). By virtue of my Permanent and Retroactive Tax Exemption I am exempt from the Processing Fee, so I immediately do so.

____________________________________________________


[My turn is now immediately interrupted by a Bonus Turn, Turn X, for everyone but me, as governed by the Rules of Appendix L, which I suggest you all read carefully. In short, each of you may play once, as in a normal Turn, but there is no Turn Order to regulate the order of play: you may choose to act in any order. Aminev and the other rulesets are near-unanimous in firmly insisting that there may be no collusion between the Players of a Bonus Turn. With my Moderator Beanie on, I will note that in the 'Crescent community this is generally interpreted as "collude as much as possible, but maintain plausible deniability." (With my hat off, I of course insist that you follow the rules precisely.)

As Instigator, I am entitled to pick the Theme of the Bonus Turn from the appropriate table. I choose Pointless Trivia. As noted earlier by Nemo Consequentiæ, the Queen Formerly Known As The Wish Queen's presence applies the Arc 8 political modifiers to the Theme; the result is that the Theme of Turn X is Defunct Political Movements. Good luck, all!]

Intermediate Position: Plaistow
Intermediate Possessions: no towel, trowel, Archimedes the Mackinder's eagle-owl, 37975227936943673922808872153445627854565420638199 Karma, £10,483, small wheeled cart, The Last Mitre, Boar's head caboshed, Landgraviate-Archbishopric of Zutphen, Imperial Immediacy (exercised), Permanent and Retroactive Tax Exemption
Intermediate Status: Possessed by the Spirit of Ludwig Wittgenstein, Walking on Air
User avatar
jalapeno_dude
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 2:57 pm
Pronouns: He

Re: Mornington Crescent

Postby Nemo » Sun Jun 14, 2015 7:39 am

Since I'm still Mostly Dead and therefore Know Nothing, I'm incapable of making conscious choices including when in Turn X to play. I'll continue progressing north on the Northern Line for the same reason (this is of course Bull), but it'll default to taking place after every other Bonus Turn.
Nemo
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 10:04 pm
Pronouns: he/him/his

Re: Mornington Crescent

Postby Alicorn » Sun Jun 14, 2015 11:51 am

The Once And Future Player One, Turn X
Starting position: Warren Street
Starting Possessions: Strings: 'call icy dip' | Other: His Holiness The Reverend Doctor Saint Father Soft III the lucky cat, flying carpet, zakkat (slightly used), fasting (gently deployed), Certificate of Good Credit (55/407 points accrued)

[Okay, I guess it's do or die at this point!]

1) I proceed Northbound on the Northern Line at an accelerated pace, tanking my Certificate of Good Credit (but just barely) in the process. I abuse the handicapped accessibility of Euston (18.12) to travel through it with my flying carpet, which I then abandon.

2) I deploy my string 'call icy dip' to recall the time I dunked in the River Thames and lament loudly (49.M). In sympathy, ten Sovereign Mercia separatists appear to escort me, and will defend me against the sort of thing Mercian separatists are usually useful against (fig. 308) if anyone attempts to interfere.

3) I proceed north apace, making for Mornington Crescent.

Intermediate Position: accelerating north from Euston
Intermediate Possessions: His Holiness The Reverend Doctor Saint Father Soft III the lucky cat, zakkat (slightly used), fasting (gently deployed), ten Sovereign Mercia separatists
User avatar
Alicorn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4225
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 4:44 pm
Location: The Belltower
Pronouns: She/her/hers

Re: Mornington Crescent

Postby Lambda » Sun Jun 14, 2015 12:49 pm

Turn X
Starting Position: Hackney Downs
Starting Objective: Mornington Crescent
Starting Possessions: portmanteau (tapped), corduroy skirt (worn), Oyster card (£11 18s), goose-down feather, -20 Karma
Starting Status: Biding

Movement

1) I walk to Hackney Central and take the Overground west to Canonbury.

Purchases and Exchanges

I) I exchange "Canon" from Canonbury for the canonization of His Holiness The Reverend Doctor Saint Father Soft III the lucky cat, who becomes His Holiness The Reverend Doctor Father Soft III the lucky cat. (Aminev vol.6, pp.312-317.) I am now Sainted and buried. [Sorry, Alicorn, but you're a little too close to endgame for me to take the risk. I hope you understand.]

II) As a Saint, I claim my burial as Tapas to erase my negative Karma. (Aminev 24.11, Asceticism and Sacrifice)

III) Having changed over-/underground status four times (Underground -> aboveground -> sewers -> aboveground -> buried), I unlock the achievement Vertically Slippery (Aminev appendix L, 21.4), granting me a free half-toggle. I immediately spend the half-toggle, sacrificing my goose-down feather for its Lightness (Aminev 19.30, Elemental and Symbolic Affinities, to unbury myself again. The residual symbolisms of upward motion and burial leave me in Highbury.

IV) My portmantau untaps.

Ending Position: Highbury
Ending Objective: Mornington Crescent
Ending Possessions: portmanteau, corduroy skirt (worn), Oyster card (£8 2s)
Ending Status: Sainted
User avatar
Lambda
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 9:39 am
Pronouns: She, her

Re: Mornington Crescent

Postby Alicorn » Sun Jun 14, 2015 12:55 pm

*shakes fist*
User avatar
Alicorn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4225
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 4:44 pm
Location: The Belltower
Pronouns: She/her/hers

Re: Mornington Crescent

Postby Lambda » Wed Jun 17, 2015 8:16 pm

[I believe we are currently waiting on pistachi0n.]
User avatar
Lambda
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 9:39 am
Pronouns: She, her

Re: Mornington Crescent

Postby jalapeno_dude » Wed Jun 17, 2015 9:29 pm

[And AndaisQ, yes. As we're in a Bonus Turn, either of them may act immediately.]
User avatar
jalapeno_dude
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 2:57 pm
Pronouns: He

PreviousNext

Return to Board Games

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron